Latest news:
IAMT | Award of Honour

International Association for Machine Translation

IAMT Award of Honour

Article 15 of IAMT bylaws

The Council of IAMT shall confer an award on the occasion of its biennial "MT Summit" conference to the individual member who in its opinion has made an outstanding contribution to the promotion and development of machine translation and/or to the aims and objectives of IAMT* as defined in Article 2 of the association's Bylaws. *Nominations for the award may be made to the Council by any member of IAMT, and seconded by two other members, *not less than six months before the next "MT Summit" conference. The name of the award shall be the "IAMT Award of Honor".

Current Nominating Committee

Alon Lavie (AMTA rep.)
Hitoshi Isahara (AAMT rep.)
Andy Way (Chair, EAMT rep.)

Past Awardees

  • 1997: Makoto Nagao
  • 1999: Muriel Vasconcellos
  • 2001: John Hutchins
  • 2003: --
  • 2005: Maghi King
  • 2007: Winfred P. Lehmann (in memoriam)
  • 2009: Bente Maegaard
  • 2011: Hitoshi Iida
  • 2013: Hermann Ney
  • 2015: Philipp Koehn
  • 2017: Jun-Ichi Tsujii

IAMT bylaws can be accessed here