MT-Archive | News Archive | MTNI


2017 EAMT Best Thesis Awardee

Twelve PhD theses defended in 2017 were received as candidates for the 2018 edition of the Anthony C Clarke Award - EAMT Best Thesis Award, and all twelve were eligible. A panel of 41 reviewers was recruited to examine and score the theses, considering how challenging the problem tackled in each thesis was, how relevant the results are for machine translation as a field, and what the strength of its impact in terms of scientific publications was. It became very clear that 2017 was a very good year for PhD theses in machine translation. The scores of the best theses were very close, which made it very hard to select a winner. A panel of three EAMT Executive Committee members (Barry Haddow, Juan Antonio Pérez-Ortiz, and Mikel L. Forcada) was assembled to process the reviews and select a winner.

The panel has decided to grant the 2018 edition of the EAMT Best Thesis Award to Daniel Emilio Beck's thesis "Gaussian Processes for Text Regression" (University of Sheffield), supervised by Lucia Specia (University of Sheffield) and Trevor Cohn (University of Melboune).

The awardee will receive a prize of €500, together with a suitably-inscribed certificate. In addition, Dr. Beck has been invited to present a summary of his thesis at the Annual Conference of the EAMT ( which will take place in Alacant, May 29–30, 2018. In order to facilitate this, the EAMT will waive the winner's registration costs, and will make available a travel bursary of €200.

Mikel L. Forcada

EAMT President